Golfing Glory

The 5th Elizabeth Wuraola Ojo Memorial Golf Tournament ended at the Ikeja Golf Club on Saturday, 8 November, 2008, with Col. Dayo Adesogan emerging as overall winner.The tournament, organised in honour of the late Mrs. Elizabeth Wuraola Ojo, former Vice Chairman of Elizade Group, holed out at the Ikeja Golf Club with a gala night on Sunday.

It was a week-long event that started with a caddies’ show, while the professionals later took centre stage.Adesogan grossed 62 score to lift the prestigeous Men Nett trophy ahead of hard fighting golfer, Prof. Oghojafor who finished second grossing 64. His ball-striking skills earned him the top prize of the night and Adesogan believes the feat will lure golf followers in Nigeria to join the league despite their lukewarm attitude to the game. After the ball had been rested and the top prize won, Adesogan showed off his trophy to the delight of his admirers who clustered around him on his night of glory. “It’s unbelievable that these people came here to wish me well after the Wuraola tournament. I’m so elated about the whole show and feel so great winning the trophy,” Adesogan told TheNEWS.

Captain James Daniel won the Best Front 9 trophy, Akin Kongi captured the Best Back 9 while Isaac Uhunmwagho and Billi Bello grabbed the Nearest Pin and Best Endeavour trophies respectively.The gala night celebration reached its highest point went Gbenga Ayodele strolled into the lavishly decorated hall to lift the Longest Drive trophy.As part of the attractions this year, the sponsor of the annual tournament, Toyota Nigeria Limited, organised art (drawing) competition for children in some selected charity homes in Lagos.

The homes included: Heart of Gold Hospice, Surulere; Little Saints Orphanage, Palmgroove; Modupe Cole Home, Akoka; Red Cross Motherless Home, Makoko and SOS Home, Isolo.TNL also made cash donations ranging from N200, 000 to N500, 000 to the homes, while the first three winning entries saw the children receiving Playstation Game pack worth N75, 000 each.Gboyega Oyebanji and Chidi Tobias shared the top spot after shooting two under par 67 in the pros category. Oyebanji successfully defended the title he won in 2007 and Tobias tied with him. The duo began their career on the course. Tobias won the EWOG in 2006. The Marketing Manager of TNL, Mr. Andrew Ajuyah, was pleased that the tournament weny well and that over 40 trophies went to the participants during the gala night.

Article Categories:
Lifestyle · News · Story

Related Posts

Popular Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *